Subject Guides : Interior Design
Getting Started: Reference Books
As you begin your research, use reference books like these for basic information and definitions of terms. These are just a few of the books you'll find on your topic in the DCTC Library.
- The Grove encyclopedia of decorative arts
Reference NK28 .G76 2006 - Encyclopedia of interior design
Reference NK1165 .E48 1997 - Phaidon design classics
Reference NK1320 .P438 2006 - Time-saver standards for interior design and space planning, 2nd ed.
Reference NK2110 .T48 2001 - Business and legal forms for interior designers
Reference NK2116 .C66 2001 - Bath planning : guidelines, codes, standards
Reference NK2117 .B33 B37 2006 - Kitchen planning : guidelines, codes, standards
Reference TH4816.3.K58 B43 2006 - Design principles : color, form, styles
Reference TH4816.3 .K58 C517 2006 - Kitchen & bath drawing : documents, drafting, presentation
Reference TX655 .N49 2006
Find Books & Videos
Find books and videos with our catalog, MnPALS Plus. Use the original MnPALS catalog for advanced searching, or enter your terms below to search MnPALS Plus.
The best way to begin a search in MnPALS Plus is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To focus your search, use the Refine your search links that appear to the left of your search results. You can also click on a relevant title and look for Similar Items on the right side of the screen.
You can expand your search to include all libraries in the MnPALS system. Items not available from the DCTC Library can be requested through interlibrary loan (ILL).
Our books and videos are organized by Library of Congress call numbers. Most books and videos about interior design are shelved in the NK call number range. We also have books on related subjects such as art history, color, drafting, materials, flooring, etc. Please see the reference librarian if you need help locating these resources.
Find Articles
Use indexes and databases to locate articles, reports, and other documents on your topic. You can print, save, or e-mail any of the full-text articles in these databases. The DCTC Library also subscribes to about 120 periodicals in print; some of these are not available online. If the specific article you need is not available at the DCTC Library either online or in print, you can request the article from another library through interlibrary loan (ILL).
Indexes & Databases
Periodicals
See PALSconnect Linker for a list of magazines and journals on the subject of interior decoration, with links to full text.
We have print subscriptions to Architectural Digest, Art & Antiques, Better Homes and Gardens, Elle Décor, House Beautiful, Interior Design, and The Magazine Antiques.
Web Sites
Some annotations are adapted from the web sites' own descriptions and from ipl2: Information You Can Trust.
Reference Librarian
The DCTC Library's reference librarian is
Barbara Tuttle
651-423-8345
Please feel free to contact me with questions, comments, concerns, or for additional help with your research.
Last updated on October 6, 2010.